• ‚Äč
    • Share to Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Email
    • Print

Humane Teacher of the Year Award Nomination Form

Each year since 1981, The HSUS and its affiliates have given the National Humane Teacher of the Year Award (formerly the National Kind Teacher Award) to a preschool-grade 12 teacher who has consistently incorporated humane education into his or her curriculum and/or motivated students to get involved in community service for animals.


2016: Susan Kosko of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and Virginia Hamilton of Indialantic, Florida
2015: Ashley Ault of Hong Kong and Lori Raxenberg of Baltimore, Maryland
2014: Jessica Sears of Elmer, New Jersey
2013: Rhonda Sykes of Austell, Georgia
2011: Marcy Wells of Portland, Oregon
2010: Melanie Brewer of Excelsior Springs, Missouri
2009: Debra Corbett of Louisville, Kentucky
2008: Jeffery Fessler of Palm Beach, Florida

Nominate yourself or another preschool-grade 12 teacher for this award by filling out the form below. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 15, 2017, and the winner will be notified before the end of the 2016-2017 school year.

1. Please tell us about the teacher you are nominating (you may nominate yourself):









(Maximum response 255 chars, approx. 5 rows of text)






8. If you are nominating someone else, please tell us about yourself. (Leave this section blank if you are nominating yourself.)








   Please leave this field empty

Button reading donate now