• Share to Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Email
    • Print

Greyhound racing is on the wane–it's now illegal in 40 states. But greyhounds still bred for racing face a lifetime in crates, pens or fenced enclosures, without the love of a family. We can eliminate greyhound racing through education, compassion and action.


Greyhounds are at a disadvantage even before they are born. Thousands are bred annually—many more than are needed to race—in an attempt to create the fastest dogs. Cruel methods are often used to dispose of unwanted dogs, and the dogs that do survive in the industry are forced to live in cramped conditions. Greyhound racing also typically involves the killing and maiming of bait animals (such as rabbits) during training. Overall, this is a “sport” to be avoided by animal lovers.

You can help the dogs who are still part of this industry by taking some simple steps.

Give a Gift to Florida Greyhounds this December!

Florida has the chance to put an end to abusive greyhound racing. A historic Constitutional Amendment has been introduced by Senator Tom Lee. Florida has 12 of the remaining 18 tracks in the country and is the only reason the industry is hanging on.

This Constitutional Amendment would phase out racing and would decouple greyhound racing from other forms of gambling, ultimately ending the practice in the state. Florida tracks are not required to report greyhound injuries to the public, but we know that as many as 8,000 dogs are confined for 20-23 hours per day in cages too small for the dogs to even stand normally. Injuries, death and abuses are all too common. The General Provisions Committee of the Florida Constitution Revision Commission unanimously approved this proposal, which is now headed to the Executive Committee and they need to hear from you!

If you live in Florida, we are asking you to call or email the Commissioners on the Executive Committee. Together, we can be a strong voice for greyhounds and finally put an end to this inhumane practice.

Calling is easy! It can be as simple as "Commissioner ______, I am a Florida resident and I’m calling today to express my supportfor CRC proposal 67 to protect racing greyhounds. Please support the amendment so Florida residents can have their voices heard on the 2018 ballot."

  • Darlene Jordan (561) 331-1701 Darlene.Jordan@flcrc.gov
  • Chris Sprowls (727) 793-2810 Chris.Sprowls@flcrc.gov
  • Jose Felix Diaz Jose.Diaz@flcrc.gov/li>
  • Belinda Keiser (954) 609-5265 Belinda.Keiser@flcrc.gov
  • Chris Nocco (727) 847-5878 Chris.Nocco@flcrc.gov
  • Pam Stewart (850) 245-0505 Pam.Stewart@flcrc.gov

If you want to make even more impact, call or email more commissioners:

  • Jose "Pepe" Armas Jose.Armas@flcrc.gov
  • Lisa Carlton (941) 218-0142 Lisa.Carlton@flcrc.gov
  • Timothy Cerio (850) 296-2920 Timothy.Cerio@flcrc.gov
  • Hank Coxe (904) 353-0211 Hank.Coxe@flcrc.gov
  • Erika Donalds (850) 270-8283 Erika.Donalds@flcrc.gov
  • Anna Marie Hernandez Gamez (850) 320-8716 Anna.Gamez@flcrc.gov
  • Tom Grady (850) 270-1630 Tom.Grady@flcrc.gov
  • Marva Johnson (850) 792-6574 Marva.Johnson@flcrc.gov
  • Arthenia Joyner (813) 591-0625 Arthenia.Joyner@flcrc.gov
  • Frank Kruppenbacher Frank.Kruppenbacher@flcrc.gov
  • Patricia Levesque (850) 895-1249 Patricia.Levesque@flcrc.gov
  • Roberto Martinez (305) 476-7400 Roberto.Martinez@flcrc.gov
  • Rich Newsome (850) 792-5303 Rich.Newsome@flcrc.gov
  • Darryl Rouson (727) 822-6828 Darryl.Rouson@flcrc.gov
  • William "Bill" Schifino, Jr. (850) 792-5825 William.Schifino@flcrc.gov
  • Chris Smith Chris.Smith@flcrc.gov
  • Bob Solari (772) 226-1438 Bob.Solari@flcrc.gov
  • John Stemberger (850) 329-0805 John.Stemberger@flcrc.gov
  • Carolyn Timmann (772) 210-4398 Carolyn.Timmann@flcrc.gov
  • Nicole Washington (786) 309-6022 Nicole.Washington@flcrc.gov

Long Odds for the Survival of Greyhound Racing

Dog lovers everywhere should be pleased to learn that greyhound racing– once referred to as the "Sport of Queens" –is on its way out as a form of gambling and entertainment.

Read the blog

News & Events

  • February 9, 2015

    Help Dogs, Cats, and Other Animals by Changing State Laws at Humane Lobby Day

    You can help pass laws that protect animals in your state. Humane Lobby Day is easy, fun and guaranteed to make you feel like a powerful animal activist. We'll help you find the Humane Lobby Day in your state.

  • October 22, 2013

    Humane Groups to Florida Lawmakers: Pass Greyhound Protection Law

    A coalition of 16 animal protection organizations, led by GREY2K USA, The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, and The Humane Society of the United States, sent a letter to the Florida House and Senate Gaming Committees, calling for passage of two greyhound protection measures.

  • April 10, 2013

    Humane Lobby Day Kicks Off in Florida

    Florida residents converged on the state capitol Wednesday to lobby for better animal welfare laws. Humane Lobby Day is sponsored by The Humane Society of the United States, GREY2K USA and the ASPCA® (The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals®).

  • January 17, 2012

    Animal Advocates Gather at Florida Capitol to Lobby for Animal Protection Legislation

    Citizens from across Florida participating in Humane Lobby Day will meet with lawmakers at the capitol to urge them to pass SB 382/HB 641, which will remove the state requirement that casinos must offer live greyhound racing, and oppose Section 6 of SB 1184/HB 1021, which would outlaw whistleblowers’ documentation of abuse and illegal activity on factory farms. The Humane Society of the United States, the ASPCA® (American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals) and GREY2K USA are co-sponsoring Humane Lobby Day.

More News & Events
 
Button reading See Her Now