• ‚Äč
    • Share to Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Email
    • Print

Finalists Announced in Cool vs. Cruel Fur-Free Design Contest

Humane Society of the United States and The Art Institutes conduct fashion competition.

The Art Institutes

Eighteen students from The Art Institutes have been chosen to represent their school in the seventh annual Cool vs. Cruel fashion design competition sponsored by The Humane Society of the United States and The Art Institutes.

The competition challenges Art Institutes students in fashion design programs throughout the United States and in Vancouver to creatively reinterpret and replace animal fur on runway designs by Fendi, Alexander McQueen, Gucci or Oscar de la Renta. This year’s finalists were chosen from among more than 200 entries.

“This competition gives the next generation of designers the opportunity to learn about why many people are opposed to animal fur, as well as try their hand at alternatives,” said Michelle McDonald, fashion outreach manager of the fur-free campaign for The HSUS.

As a finalist, each student has been awarded a cash prize in addition to being entered into the national competition. The national grand-prize winner will receive an expense-paid, week-long internship in New York City with a celebrated designer from the panel of judges.

The judging panel consists of professionals from the fashion industry, including designers John Bartlett; Victoria Bartlett; Marc Bouwer; Ally Chomer; Leanne Hilgart; Elizabeth Olsen; fashion photographer Nigel Barker; magazine editors Mickey Boardman and Shelly Vella; and The Discerning Brute blog founder Joshua Katcher.

The finalists are:

Monique Araujo, The Art Institute of Charleston

Gahee Bae, The Art Institute of Seattle

Jessica Beck, The Art Institute of Indianapolis

Daniel Bolt, The Art Institute of California-Inland Empire

Christine Coleman, The Illinois Institute of Art

Magdalena Cornett, The Art Institute of Las Vegas

Frances Abigail Dizon, The Art Institute of California-San Diego

Anna Grinfeder, Miami International University of Art & Design

Efrain Guerrero, The Art Institute of Denver

Sara Hathaway, The Art Institute of Houston

Melissa Hoffman, The Art Institute of California-Los Angeles

Michelle Huynh, The Art Institute of California-Orange County

Keisha Kirkland-Smith, The Illinois Institute of Art-Schaumburg

Jean-Baptiste Riviere, The Art Institute of Ft. Lauderdale

Golden Skyy, The Art Institute of Pittsburgh

Jeremy Stewart, The Art Institute of New York City

Matthew Vice, The Art Institute of Dallas

Johana Zara, The Art Institute of Vancouver


Photos of the finalists and their designs are available upon request or can be viewed on the facebook page of the Fur-Free campaign: http://on.fb.me/HSUSFur-Free.

Learn more about the contest and see the original runway looks at www.CoolvsCruel.org

Button reading donate now