The Humane Society of the United States and Humane Society International welcome nominations of scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of alternative methods in the areas of research, testing or higher education for the Russell and Burch Award. Alternative methods—also known as the Three Rs—are methods that can replace or reduce the use of animals or refine procedures so that animals experience less pain and suffering.

The award is named in honor of William Russell and Rex Burch, the scientists who formulated the Three Rs approach of replacement, reduction and refinement. The award recognizes those who have played an important role in limiting the use and suffering of animals in laboratories.


Candidates are judged on the scientific merit of their contribution to the alternatives field, as well as their impact and professional commitment to alternatives. Applicants should have a proven history of laboratory work that is above reproach on humane grounds.

Nominations should be submitted by May 2, 2023. No special forms are necessary. Candidates nominating themselves should submit a cover letter explaining their suitability for the award, a curriculum vitae and three published articles (preferably in PDF format) that represent their work in alternative testing methods. Those nominating others should submit a letter explaining the nominee’s suitability for the award and arrange to have a curriculum vitae and three published articles (preferably in PDF format) forwarded.


Recipients of the Russell and Burch Award are selected by a group of past honorees, including:

  • Uwe Marx, Ph.D., TissUse (2021)
  • Robert Kavlock, Ph.D., United States Environmental Protection Agency (2017)
  • Martin Stephens, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University/CAAT (2014)
  • Julia Fentem, Ph.D. Unilever (2011)
  • Thomas Hartung, M.D., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University (2009)
  • Rodger Curren, Ph.D., Institute for In Vitro Sciences (2007)
  • Bert van Zutphen, Ph.D., University of Utrecht (2005)
  • David Morton, M.R.C.V.S., Ph.D., University of Birmingham (2002)
  • Katherine Stitzel-Maurer, D.V.M., Procter & Gamble (1999)
  • Neil Wilcox, D.V.M., M.P.H., U.S. Food and Drug Administration (1998)
  • William Stokes, D.V.M., National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (1998)
  • Horst Spielmann, M.D., German National Center for the Documentation and Evaluation of Alternatives to Animal Testing (1997)
  • Andrew Rowan, D. Phil., Tufts University (1996)
  • Robert Van Buskirk, Ph.D., State University of New York at Binghamton (1995)
  • Michael Balls, D.Phil., European Centre for the Validation of Alternative Methods (1994)
  • Coenraad Hendriksen, D.V.M., Dutch National Institute of Health and Environmental Protection (1993)
  • Charles Branch, Ph.D., Auburn University (1992)
  • Alan Goldberg, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University (1991)

Affiliations reflect the affiliation of the awardee at the time of the award.

The Humane Society of the United States and Humane Society International will bestow the Russell and Burch Award at the 12th World Congress on Alternatives and Animal Use in the Life Sciences from Aug. 27 to 31. The awardee will receive a $10,000 award and a plaque.


Contact us via email.

Support Our Animal Research Campaign

Media Contacts